The Church of England elects a new General Synod in 2021, and this is an opportunity to ensure that the Church of England’s ‘Parliament’ represents the views, opinions and beliefs of its members.

The General Synod is made up of bishops, clergy and laity from every Diocese of the Church of England. It has the responsibility to make decisions about worship and doctrine, to pass legislation, to decide about the finances of the Church, to debate moral and social issues and to respond to national and international events. As well as the new Vision and Strategy, the next General Synod will have other significant areas on its agenda including Racial Justice (following on from the ‘Lament to Action’ report, the Environment and the Church’s view on Human Sexuality that is being explored in the ongoing ‘Living in Love and Faith’ process.

In the Diocese of York, six lay people and six clergy are elected. Lay members are elected by members of Deanery Synods, which in turn are made up of representatives of every parish.

The list of candidates nominated for the Houses of Laity and Clergy appears below; you are of course welcome to get in touch with any of them using the contact details they have supplied in their Election Address (download using the links at the end of the candidates list).

You are also encouraged to discuss the candidates and their expressed priorities with your own parish representatives on Deanery Synod, since they are the electorate who will choose our next General Synod representatives on your behalf.

Candidates for the House of Laity

Linda Ali ~ Heslington St Paul's Church York
Andrew Allison ~ Beverley, St Mary
Neill Burgess ~ Linthorpe St Barnabas, Middlesbrough
John Paul Bury ~ Linthorpe St Barnabas, Middlesbrough
John Castle ~ Benefice of Kirkbymoorside
Diane Craven ~ York Minster
Martin Dales ~ All Saints, Thornton-le-Dale & St Mary, Old Malton
Rosie Evans ~ St Denys, York
Lucy Gorman ~ All Saints', South Cave
Conal Gregory ~ York Minster
Bill Habergham ~ Ellerker
James Hayden ~ St Michael-le-Belfrey, York
Nick Land ~ Christ Church, Great Ayton
Richard Mapletoft ~ St Nicholas, Stillington, North Yorkshire
Hazel Murray, Linthorpe St Barnabas, Middlesbrough
Michael Oakley ~ Gilling East
Izzy Pysanczyn ~ St Michael-le-Belfrey, York
Timothy Scott ~ St Barnabas, Swanland
Derek Shepherd ~ North Ferriby
Michael Stallybrass ~ Lastingham
Sammi Tooze ~ York Minster

Candidates for the House of Clergy

Jacqueline Doyle-Brett ~ Priest in Charge, Derwent Ings Benefice
Adam Gaunt ~ Rector of Loftus-in-Cleveland and Carlin How with Skinningrove
Stuart Grant ~ Vicar of Great and Little Driffield, Member of Harthill Deanery Synod
Liz Hassall ~ Priest-in-charge of the York City Centre Churches
Fiona Hill ~ Assistant Curate in the United Benefice of Saint Columba and Saint James with Holy Trinity, Scarborough
Jonathan Hill ~ Vicar of Hull St Martin with the Transfiguration
Jake Madin ~ 20's-40's Minister, St Mary with Christ Church and the Holy Apostles, Scarborough
Francis Scott ~ Vicar of Swanland, Hull
Christian Selvaratnam ~ PTO Diocese of York (for safeguarding, attached to St Michael-le-Belfrey, York)
John Telford ~ Associate Vicar, Benefice of Kirk Ella (St Andrew) and Willerby (St Luke), Hull
Steve Wilcox ~ Vicar, Anlaby St Peter and Anlaby St Mark (held in plurality), Hull