Skip to content

Who We Are

The Diocese of York is a network of worshipping communities; a family of 579 churches and 122 schools in 442 parishes. 

As a Diocese we are committed to the praise of God through Jesus Christ and service to others, living Christ’s story day by day through our faith and work led by the Archbishop of York, Stephen Cottrell. 

The area of the diocese works as three Archdeaconries, each of which is served and guided by an archdeacon and a bishop.

Within each Archdeaconry, local parishes are grouped into Deaneries for mutual support and sharing of ideas, people and resources.

The mother church of the Diocese of York is York Minster, and Wydale Hall at the edge of the North York Moors is our Retreat and Conference Centre.

We are part of the northern province of the Church of England, within the worldwide Anglican Communion, and we enjoy close links with three Anglican dioceses in South Africa’s Western Cape.

Use the menu to learn more about the places we serve and the people who serve there.