Skip to content

Diocesan Structure

Structures in the Diocese of York

The Diocese of York is made up of Archdeaconries, Deaneries and parishes.

The Diocese is divided into the three Archdeaconries of Cleveland, the East Riding and York, each with its own Archdeacon, and in turn into 21 Deaneries or local groups of parishes.

The Deaneries are led by Area and Lay Deans, with Parishes and Benefices led by local ordained or lay ministers.

The Mother Church of the Diocese is the cathedral of York Minster, and the diocesan office is in the north side of York.